Purple & Pink for the Win!

It all started with the socks.

This isn’t so much a “cool-outfit” post as it is a “laugh-with-me-at-myself” post.  I’ve been putting an awful lot of thought into what I wear lately, and most of it revolves around black.  I tell family and friends that I’m going through a “goth phase,” because it’s less threatening and easier to process.  I’m easing them into it.

More on that later, though.  The point of this post is that all this effort gets tiring, and some days I just don’t feel like thinking about what I’m wearing at all.  So, this morning I got up and threw something on.  Whatever was easiest and most comfortable was my motto.  Well, I had slept in these socks and decided to keep them on and go from there.  I don’t normally build an outfit around a pair of socks, but perhaps I should start.   Here is something I’m only now discovering;  zany socks can put you in a good mood much as fancy underwear will.  It’s like having in inside joke between yourself and whomever is observant enough to “get it.”

Firstly, with comfort being my aim, I threw on gray, cotton twill trousers.  (They’ve become a bit too snug, but shhhh … don’t tell anyone.)  Next, I matched a favorite sweater to the purple in my socks, and that was it.  I was ready to head out the door.  It occurred to me, though, that I might need an extra layer in the office; it’s been chilly at my desk lately.  I usually leave a cardigan there, but had worn it home last Friday.  I hurriedly considered which cardigan to use when I remembered one exactly the same color of the polka dots on my socks.  Voila!  I am whimsically (and coincidentally) bedecked in bright pink & purple, matching my socks exactly.  What a hoot!  In these colors I feel as though I’ve walked right out of Willy Wonka’s candy factory.  Nothing special by far, I know, but fun enough to give me a giggle.  It’s not only dressing to the 9’s or even accessorizing “just so” that can make a person feel lively.  Sometimes the littlest nothings are fun.

Source: endless.com

If only I’d had these shoes to go with it.  Haha!  Now wouldn’t that be something!

What little “nothing” do you throw on that never fails to give your mood a boost?

Leave a comment

Copyright © 2012 The Airstepper's Adventures — All Rights Reserved